TWITTER INTERVIEW WITH GMA 2013 NOMINATED : KWABENA KWABENA

4 May
Picture Source: Ghana Nation

Picture Source: Ghana Nation


MAY 4, 2013:
Kwabena Kwabena is a highly respected and gifted Ghanaian artist. With established hits like “Bibini”, “Aso” and “Obi Do Wo A Do Ni Bi”, Kwabena Kwabena is gearing up to release another highly anticipated album ,entitled DAAKYE, which will be a compilation of various musical genres. Apart from preparing for an album launch, Kwabena Kwabena is also preparing to attend the Ghana Music Awards, as a result of three nominations he received in conjunction with Asem for the song “Bye Bye”. Nominated for Vodafone Song of the Year, Best Collaboration of the Year, and Hip-Life Song of the Year, 2013 is starting out well for Kwabena Kwabena.

Kwabena Kwabena recently sat down with Afromusion during a LIVE twitter interview  (AFROMUSIONTWITTERVIEWS) on May 3, 2013, to discuss his music and future plans.

The following is the transcript:

AFROMUSION: When did you first get into music? Tell us a little bit about your journey.

KWABENA KWABENA:  I got into music at a very tender age, music has always been part of my family so I guess I picked it up easily. It started from the church and then it grew to become a passion instead of the hobby.  It went on and on until I was able to show the world my God given talents.

 

AFROMUSION: What makes your music different than other artists/how do you define it?

KWABENA KWABENA: I would say that everybody is different and unique in their own way and we all try to make a difference with what God has given us. I can sing and someone else can rap but the most important thing is doing what you can do best in your comfort zone

 

AFROMUSION: At what point in your life did you realize that your music was known internationally?

KWABENA KWABENA: I am grateful to my maker for such a wonderful talent and for it to be able to reach the rest of the world. I know people all over the world listen to my music, both Ghanaians and people from the diaspora, and it make me feel good.

 

AFROMUSION: How has your life changed, now that you are a highly regarded musician?

KWABENA KWABENA: it’s been a wonderful and successful journey so far . The Lord has been good to me, my fans have been loyal to me through thick and thin and almost every thing I own today –  music contributed a lot to it and am grateful for the talent

AFROMUSION: How did you get the name Kwabena Kwabena?

KWABENA KWABENA: I grew up with a thought of becoming an architect, but my passion for music got the best of me in life, so everyone who knew me from back then knew me as  “Kwabena the Architect”, so when I got into music I added another Kwabena to it so there can be two Kwabenas. There’s Kwabena the “architect” and Kwabena the “musician”.

AFROMUSION: I bet you there are millions of people who NEVERRRRRR knew that!!

KWABENA KWABENA: yea there is always a first time to everything in life lol

AFROMUSION: Out of all the songs you have written, which one is your favorite?

KWABENA KWABENA: my music is like my children and I love all of them and can never choose one over the other because every one of them is from God.

AFROMUSION: Really!!! Ok Kwabena Kwabena , so there is not ONE song that you hold TIGHTLY to your heart?? 🙂

KWABENA KWABENA: There are those songs that shot me to stardom but that does not mean that they are better than the others

AFROMUSION: What inspires you to write your music? Where do you draw your inspiration from?

KWABENA KWABENA: Things around me on a daily basis, things I go through, what I hear, watch and read, and most my maker gives me the music.

AFROMUSION: Do you remember where you were the first time u heard your song on the radio?

KWABENA KWABENA: I was at home when I had a call from a friend who had already heard my songs and he called me up to tune to a particular radio station and I was being played over there . It really made me feel good

AFROMUSION: What song of yours was playing on the radio, when your friend called you?

KWABENA KWABENA: Aso, I guess, lol.

AFROMUSION:  You have just recently been nominated for a Ghana Music Award… how did that make you feel?

KWABENA KWABENA: Great, it always feels good when people appreciate the hard work you put into your craft as an artist.

AFROMUSION: Let’s talk about your nomination for BYE BYE with ASEM. How did you create the concept for that song?

 KWABENA KWABENA: it’s a good song and it was created by two great minds. Asem is a great song writer and composer so it made it easy working with him

AFROMUSION: You and ASEM have been nominated in SO MANY CATEGORIES: Song of the Year, Best Collaboration, Hip life..the chances are high of you winning a category.

KWABENA KWABENA: We pray we win. It is a good song and surely deserves an award

AFROMUSION: You have been a constant in the Ghana music scene. How do you feel GH music has changed over time?

KWABENA KWABENA: Well it’s had its ups and downs but in all I would say its really getting better, at least the Azonto trend has helped put a check to the Naija invasion of our music industry and it can only get better if we as musicians learn to serve to people with right music for them to enjoy and also for our people to be a little bit patriotic and help the musicians grow by buying our works.

AFROMUSION; Do you know how to do the Azonto?

KWABENA KWABENA: Yeah, I dance it a lot and I love it. This has the Ghanaian culture all over it- our way of life, humor, and everything in it !

AFROMUSION: You, me, Fuse ODG, Sarkodie, will have to have an AZONTO dance contest since you claim to know how to do it well 🙂

KWABENA KWABENA: Ha ha ha ha , we will see who is the best when it gets there but big ups to everyone who has taken Ghana music to the next level

AFROMUSION:  What can your fans expect from you this year?

KWABENA KWABENA: A massive album will be launched at the start of next month and my fans should be on the lookout.

AFROMUSION: Yes everyone will be awaiting your album. The cover is surreal. What makes this upcoming album different than your last one?

KWABENA KWABENA: This is the new me, the new Kwabena Kwabena. This has a couple of tunes you can easily dance to, as well as your favorite ballad songs. It’s a great album and I encourage all my fans to grab a copy when it finally comes out.

AFROMUSION: it has been an HONOR having you LIVE on AFROMUSIONtwitterview. We have learned so much about you!!

KWABENA KWABENA: It is my pleasure to serve my fans at all times. Any day you need me I will be right here for you and for them.

AFROMUSION: Thank you SO MUCH !! And best of luck at the GHANA MUSIC AWARDS.. we will all be watching to support you!

KWABENA KWABENA: Thank you too! I am grateful and we pray to God we win and we pray for strength and guidance for making everyone happy.

Leave a Reply

