One on One interview with Sound Knockdown

6 Jan


ONE-ON-ONE INTERVIEWWITH SOUND KNOCKDOWN

By: Afromusion

SoundKnockDown is an African Artist with Ghanaian and Nigerian roots. Out in the musical scene since 2011, his latest hit “ If No Be You” is a timeless classy catchy song, which has grabbed the attention of an international audience. Read the following interview with Sound Knockdown to find out where he gets his musical inspiration from and what his musical goals are for the year 2014.

1.Tell us a little bit about your background- where did you grow up and go to school, how many siblings do you have?

My real name is Martins Okuonghae and I was born in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. I attended Oba Akenzua Primary School Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. I also attended Edo College Nigeria and Dublin Business School in association with (Liverpool John Moore University) in the Republic of Ireland where I earned a degree in Financial Services.  I am the 3rd born of a family of 6 boys and 1 girl. My mother is a retired high school principal and my Dad was a bank manager.
2.How did music influence your childhood?

I grew up in a home heavily influenced by music, where my mum used to sing and record on a cassette player at home. This is where I witnessed firsthand the power of playing back a recording as a very young boy ,and over the years my father had built up a great collection of records including African, Jamaican, European and American artist such as Sir Victor Uwaifo, Osayomore Joseph, Akaba Man, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Fela Kuti, Bob Marley, Jimmy Cliff, Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Lucky Dube, Jackson 5, and Alpha Blondy,  just to mention a few. Also, my eldest brother had a great collection of music videos and hip hop records and this obviously influenced my taste of music. In addition, my other siblings were involved with the church choir and I believe a combination of all these influences is the reason why I have a diverse musical taste.

3.What is the importance of music in society, as a whole?

Music plays an integral part in our society in various ways and without it the human soul will starve. Music enables musicians to express themselves and communicate in different ways, forms and styles, and listeners are entertained and emotionally influenced in the process.

People use music to share their feelings, life experience, aspiration, and ambitions. People also use music to motivate the listeners and as such people have always found music significant in their lives.

4.Who were your favorite musicians when you were growing up?

My favorite musicians were 2 pac, DMX, Jay Z, Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, BIG, Bob Marley, Jimmy Cliff, Jackson 5, Orits Wiliki, Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Osayomore Joseph, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Akaba Man, and  Alpha Blondy just to mention a few.

5. Who are your favorite musicians now? 2pac, Jay Z, Rick Ross, Psquare, 2face,
Ice prince, Wizkid, Sarkodie, R2bees, Wande Coal, Banky W, Bob Marley, and Beyonce.

6.Which Ghanaian musician would you like to work with and why?

Sarkodie and R2Bees because I like their brand of music.
7.How does technology impact your music? Technology has impacted my music by making it easy for me to make beats and share my music across the world.

8. What year did you officially enter the market as a musician?
I officially entered the market as a musician in 2011.

.

9. Do you consider yourself a UK artist,Ghanaian artist,Nigerian artist, or all? Where do you consider your base? I consider myself as an African artist and I am based in the UK & Republic of Ireland.

10. How many albums have you released? 2 Albums in 2 years. My First album , entitled “Passion Beyond Reason” was released in 2012 and my second album entitled “Celebration” was released on the 30th of November 2013.

11. Out of all of the songs you have released, which one is your favorite?

I actually love all my songs equally.

12. Tell me a bit about Safari Sound Recording.

Safari Sound Recordings is my record label and we have 3 artists, including myself, signed to the label. We are interested in signing more artists. I got the name Safari from safari trips to Africa.

.

13. Tell us a bit about your latest 2 releases,” Tell me your name” and “Why you dey vex”.

Tell Me Your Name is a song about a guy that meets a girl in a social gathering and wants to know her better because he fancy’s her.

Why You Dey Vex is song that talks about people who are jealous of other people’s success.

14. How did you get the name Sound Knock Down?

I got the name from the way I deliver my vocals – on every track I make sure I knock down the sound with my vocals.

15.Describe the way that you write your songs—what factors into your music writing process? When I write I first of all figure out what I want to write about and then factor in energy, authentic lyrics, and melodies.

16. What inspires your music writing?

My music is usually inspired by my life experience and beats.
17. If you could look back and give one piece of advice to yourself, like5 years ago, what would you say? Continuously learn new skills and set goals.

18. What are your goals for the upcoming year?

Release a new album, collaborate with other great artists around the world, continuously release new songs, release a lot of music videos, world tour, star in a TV program, learn a new skill and continuously promote my music around the world on the radio, TV and the internet.

19. If you were not making music, what do you think you would be doing in your life?

If I wasn’t making music I would be a financial adviser or a lawyer.

Fun Facts about SoundKnockDown:
Favourite TV show: BBC Premier League match of the day
Favourite song: Richard Marx – Right Here Waiting

Tell us something most people don’t know about you:  I like to read at least one book every month.
Favourite food: – Pounded Yam with egusi soup with assorted meat and fish

Check out Sound Knock Down on “

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/SoundKnockdownVEVO?feature=watch

Twitter:  @SoundKnockDown

Leave a Reply

